Location : EU Click to see other products made in EU
Producer : World Music Network
Product Code : STBWMNA221

Rough Guide to the Roots of Gospel CD

  • Sale
  • Regular price £9.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.
(Shipping Weight = 60 g)
Cultural Ethically Produced FSC

  • Shopify secure badge
  • Pay securely using any of these methods...
    • American Express
    • Apple Pay
    • Google Pay
    • Maestro
    • Mastercard
    • Shop Pay
    • Visa


    With its enduring message of comfort and inspiration, gospel music's origins are rooted in the tragedy of African-American slavery. From the earthy recordings of the evangelist street performers to the polished sound of the jubilee quartets, this Rough Guide features many of the trailblazing artists who paved the way for what has become a global phenomenon.

    Track Listing :

    Rough Guide to the Roots of the Blues
    01 Arizona Dranes: It's All Right Now 02:44
    02 Luther Magby: Blessed Are The Poor In Spirit 03:08
    03 Rev. J.C. Burnett: True Friendship 02:55
    04 Four Dusty Travelers: Po' Mourner 02:51
    05 St. Mark's Chanters: So High 02:26
    06 Jessie May Hill: The Crucifixion Of Christ 02:59
    07 Blind Willie Johnson: God Don't Never Change 02:56
    08 Laura Henton: I Can Tell The World About This 02:42
    09 Washington Phillips: I Am Born To Preach The Gospel 03:04
    10 Thomas A. Dorsey & The Gospel Singers: Singing In My Soul 03:01
    11 Famous Blue Jay Singers: Children Wade In The Water 02:25
    12 Elder Beck: Drinking Shine 03:08
    13 Rev. J.M. Gates: Death's Black Train Is Coming 03:06
    14 Mother McCollum: Jesus Is My Air-O-Plane 03:17
    15 Alfred G. Karnes: I Am Bound For The Promised Land 03:12
    16 Brother William's Memphis Sanctified Singers: I Will Meet You At The Station 02:40
    17 Rev. Gary Davis: Have More Faith In Jesus 03:04
    18 Birmingham Jubilee Singers: Do You Call that Religion 03:13
    19 The Morris Gospel Family: He Rose Unknown 02:58
    20 Rev. A.W. Nix: Black Diamond Express To Hell - Part 1 02:50
    21 Rev. F.W. McGee: Fifty Miles Of Elbow Room (Take 2) 02:38
    22 Delta Big Four: Jesus Got His Arms Around Me 03:02
    23 Rev. Edward W. Clayborn: Then We'll Need That True Religion 02:54
    24 Dinwiddie Colored Quartet: Down On The Old Camp Ground 02:24
    25 Ernest Phipps & His Holiness Quartet: Don't Grieve After Me 03:10
    26 Sister Mary M. Nelson: The Royal Telephone 02:39

    Music Style(s)
    Gospel , Blues

    Age Suitability
    Teen , Young Adult , Thirty-Something , Young At Heart

    Ethical , FSC

    Made in EU


    Have a Question?

    Be the first to ask a question about this.

    Ask a Question