Location : Hong Kong Click to see other products made in Hong Kong
Producer : World Music Network
Product Code : STBWMNA055

Rough Guide to the Music of New Orleans 2xCD

  • Sale
  • Regular price £9.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.
(Shipping Weight = 93 g)
Cultural Ethically Produced

  • Shopify secure badge
  • Pay securely using any of these methods...
    • American Express
    • Apple Pay
    • Google Pay
    • Maestro
    • Mastercard
    • Shop Pay
    • Visa


    Music is everywhere in New Orleans; it's the lifeblood of the city and the people. The Rough Guide to the music of New Orleans gives you a real taste of the whole New Orleans scene. Soak up the classic piano jazz of Professor Longhair, the thick horn blasts of The Hot 8 Brass Band, or the deep grooves of Dumpstaphunk, the latter of which also provide the full-length and fantastically funky bonus album included with this Rough Guide.

    Ask any inhabitant of New Orleans, Louisiana and they will tell you that they are part of the 'New Orleans Nation' – an anecdote that captures the independent and uniquely creative vibe of the great city so well. Consider Afro-American, Latino, European Creole and Cajun influences, and then add in the sounds of Mardis Gras Indian music, and you start to get the picture that this city is quite simply like no other.

    The bonus album features Dumpstaphunk, a band who have been described by the New York Times as 'the best funk band from New Orleans right now', and they don't say these things lightly! So put your troubles in the 'dumpsta' it is time to get up, shake your sacroiliac and feel the (Dumpsta)-phunk!

    Track Listing :

    Rough Guide to the Music of New Orleans
    01 - Jessie Hill - Ooh Poo Pah Doo
    02 - The Meters - Look-Ka Py Py
    03 - Earl King - Street Parade - Part 1
    04 - Big Chief Monk Boudreaux - Monk's Mardi Gras
    05 - James & Troy Andrews - Zulu King
    06 - Kermit Ruffins - Treme Mardi Gras
    07 - Papa Grows Funk - Soul Second Line
    08 - New Orleans Nightcrawlers - Hold 'em Joe
    09 - The Hot 8 Brass Band - Sexual Healing (Re-Edit)
    10 - Dumpstaphunk - Sheez Music
    11 - Jon Cleary & The Absolute Monster Gentlemen - When You Get Back
    12 - Los Hombres Calientes - El Barrio
    13 - Professor Longhair - Big Chief (Live)
    14 - Dr John - Mac's Boogie
    15 - Dr Michael White - Basin' Street Blues

    Dumpstaphunk - Listen Hear (Extended Edition) - Bonus CD
    01 - Shake It Off
    02 - Meanwhile...
    03 - Stinky
    04 - Turn This Thing Around
    05 - Deeper
    06 - Oughta Know Better
    07 - Livin Ina World Gone Mad

    Music Style(s)
    New Orleans , North American

    Age Suitability
    Teen , Young Adult , Thirty-Something , Young At Heart

    Ethically Produced

    Made In Hong Kong


    Have a Question?

    Be the first to ask a question about this.

    Ask a Question