Location : Hong Kong Click to see other products made in Hong Kong
Producer : World Music Network
Product Code : STBWMNA077

Rough Guide to the Music of Ethiopia 2xCD

  • Sale
  • Regular price £9.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.
(Shipping Weight = 93 g)
Cultural Ethically Produced

  • Shopify secure badge
  • Pay securely using any of these methods...
    • American Express
    • Apple Pay
    • Google Pay
    • Maestro
    • Mastercard
    • Shop Pay
    • Visa


    This Rough Guide bursts at the seams with everything from golden age Ethio-jazz to contemporary dub-club fusion. Classic tunes from Mahmoud Ahmed and Alemayehu Eshete appear alongside Krar Collective, Dub Colossus and more.

    Whether it conjures up legendary marathon runners, the rock-hewn churches at Lalibela, richly brewed coffee, Rastafarian spirituality, tumbling waterfalls or steaming hot springs, Ethiopia is a country famed for diverse reasons. Home to 82 million residents, the landlocked country is also birthplace to a multiplex of brilliant musics.

    On The Rough Guide to the Music of Ethiopia, the 'Golden Age' of recorded Ethiopian music is paid homage to via tracks by seminal Ethio-jazz musicians Mahmoud Ahmed and Alemayehu Eshete. Other handpicked gems are selected from the Ethiopiques album series produced by Francis Falceto, an aficionado and scholar of rare Ethiopian records. The energetic music of saxophone prodigy Getatchew Mekuria references the long history of military brass bands in the country fused with a thoroughly modern rock ethos.

    Track Listing :

    Rough Guide to the Music of Ethiopia
    01 - Bole 2 Harlem - Ametballe
    02 - Dub Colossus - Guragigna
    03 - Mahmoud Ahmed - Ohoho Gedama
    04 - Getatchew Mekuria & The Ex & Guests - Musicawi Silt
    05 - Orchestra Ethiopia - Datchene Koba (Trio Of Emblitas)
    06 - Krar Collective - Ende Eyerusalem
    07 - Samuel Yirga - Abet Abet (Punt Mix)
    08 - Zerfu Demissie - Sek let (Crucifixion)
    09 - Invisible System - Ambassel
    10 - Alemayehu Eshete - Ney-Ney Weleba
    11 - Tirudel Zenebe - Gue
    12 - Mohammed Jimmy Mohammed - Mela Mela
    13 - Tsegue-Maryam Guebrou - Homesickness

    Introducing... Invisible System - Bonus CD
    01 - Closer To The Edge
    02 - Gondar Sub
    03 - Tizita
    04 - Dark Entries
    05 - Skunk Funk
    06 - Azmari Fuse
    07 - Maljam Kehnoelish (If This Is What You Want)
    08 - Oumabetty
    09 - Hode Baba (I'm Worried He's Moving)
    10 - Mama Yey
    11 - Fiten Azorkugn (I Turned My Face Away)

    Music Style(s)
    African , Ethiopian

    Age Suitability
    Teen , Young Adult , Thirty-Something , Young At Heart

    Ethically Produced

    Made In Hong Kong


    Have a Question?

    Be the first to ask a question about this.

    Ask a Question