Location : Hong Kong Click to see other products made in Hong Kong
Producer : World Music Network
Product Code : STBWMNA031

Rough Guide to Merengue Dance 2xCD

  • Sale
  • Regular price £9.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.
(Shipping Weight = 93 g)
Cultural Ethically Produced

  • Shopify secure badge
  • Pay securely using any of these methods...
    • American Express
    • Apple Pay
    • Google Pay
    • Maestro
    • Mastercard
    • Shop Pay
    • Visa


    From rural roots in the Dominican Republic, merengue has grown to become a vibrant, ultra-modern Latin dance phenomenon conquering the hearts and feet of couples the world over.

    The inimitable vocalist, activist, politician and all round granddaddy of modern merengue Johnny Ventura is still going strong after nearly five decades in the business. His medium-paced cooker 'El Mangú' features playful lyrics and is in the perico ripiao style. The Queen of Merengue Milly Quezada has had a lengthy career distinguished by Grammy-winning music of the highest calibre. Her sultry voice and playful sense of humour are showcased on 'Yo Soy Mujer Y No Soy Una Santa', where she proudly proclaims: 'I am a woman, not a saint'.

    Enhanced Added Value: This CD contains a data track that includes music and travel from the Rough Guide books.

    'modern version of the Dominican Republic dance music... fast and energetic' 3*** stars, Limelight (Australia)

    Track Listing :

    Rough Guide to Merengue Dance
    01 - Jose Peña Suazo Y La Banda Gorda - No Doy Mi Truco
    02 - Johnny Ventura - El Mangú
    03 - Milly Quezada - Yo Soy Mujer Y No Soy Una Santa
    04 - Joseíto Mateo - El Papá De Los Merengueros
    05 - Wilfrido Vargas - Tu Eres Un Veneno
    06 - Nelson De La Olla Y Su Banda Chula - Las Cosa Lindas De Mi Pais
    07 - Maria Diaz - El Hombre Que Quise
    08 - El Prodigio - Corazón Maldito
    09 - Kinito Méndez - Tírame Tu Que Yo Devuelvo
    10 - Papi Sánchez - Que Dura Tu 'Ta;'
    11 - El Boy, Krissppy & Fuera De Ley - Ajena
    12 - Chiqui Rodriguez - Mirala A Ella
    13 - Charlie Valens - El Hijo De Tuta
    14 - Rikarena - Merengue Riko
    15 - Carlitos Almonte Y Su Acordeón Cinco Estrellas - Miladis

    Carlitos Almonte Y Su Acordeon Cinco Estrellas - Mambeao - Bonus CD
    01 - La Asesina
    02 - Los llantos de Ramón
    03 - La Mala MaDa
    04 - Miladis
    05 - Maria Morena
    06 - Carlisto No Llora
    07 - Mi Gran Noche
    08 - La Bailadora
    09 - San Francisco
    10 - Temeridad
    11 - La Cama Vacia

    Music Style(s)
    Caribbean , Dance , Merengue

    Age Suitability
    Teen , Young Adult , Thirty-Something , Young At Heart

    Ethically Produced

    Made In Hong Kong


    Have a Question?

    Be the first to ask a question about this.

    Ask a Question